Frequently Asked Questions

Home Frequently Asked Questions

What is FMGE?

The Foreign Medical Graduates Examination (FMGE), also known as the Medical Council of India Screening Test, is a licensure exam conducted by the National Board of Examinations (NBE) in India. The FMGE exam is mandatory for Indian citizens who wish to practise medicine in India with their medical degrees from foreign countries.

What is the difference between FMGE and NEXT?

The National Exit Test (NExT) is the uniform national medical licensure exam for MBBS graduates. The examination, introduced in the National Medical Commission Act of 2019, serves as a common licentiate exam to practice modern medicine, for merit-based admission to postgraduate courses, and as a screening exam for foreign medical graduates who want to practice in India. It replaces both the Foreign Medical Graduates Exam (FMGE) and the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test – Postgraduate (NEET-PG). However, the same has not been implemented yet.

Who is eligible to appear for FMGE?

A foreign medical graduate appearing for FMGE should meet the eligibility criteria set by the National Board of Examinations. The candidate must be a citizen of India or an Overseas Citizen of India. Candidates need to possess a primary medical qualification from any recognized institution, confirmed by the Indian Embassy of that country. It is mandatory for the candidate to provide proof of passing the primary medical qualification on or before the cutoff date.

What is the FMGE exam pattern?

The FMGE exam is a computer-based test consisting of 300 multiple-choice questions (MCQs). The exam consists of two parts: Part A and Part B. Part A comprises MCQs covering pre-clinical and para-clinical subjects, while Part B consists of clinical and practical-based questions that focus on the clinical and practical aspects of medicine.

When is FMGE conducted?

The exam is conducted biannually, in June and December, usually towards the end of the month.


Which subjects are encompassed in the FMGE syllabus?

The key subjects included in the FMGE syllabus are: Anatomy, Physiology, Biochemistry, Pathology, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Forensic Medicine, Community Medicine, General Medicine, Pediatrics, General Surgery, Obstetrics & Gynecology, Psychiatry, Dermatology & Venereology, Radiodiagnosis & Radiotherapy, and Orthopedics.

What is the marking system for FMGE?

There is no negative marking in the FMGE examination. Every correct answer awards the candidate one positive mark.

Which countries have an exemption from attempting the FMGE examination?

Candidates who have passed their medical degree/MBBS from the following countries need not appear in the FMGE examination:

    • United States of America
    • United Kingdom
    • Australia
    • Canada
    • New Zealand

These candidates can practice in India after obtaining a permanent or provisional certificate from the National Medical Commission (NMC).

How to check your FMGE exam result?

The most reliable source to check your FMGE result is the official NBE website. Visit the NBE’s FMGE website and navigate to the “Results” or “Result Declaration” section. Enter your roll number and date of birth. The result page will display your result status, indicating whether you have passed or failed the FMGE exam.

What is the criteria for passing FMGE?

The candidate should obtain a minimum of fifty percent marks in each paper.


Signup for Newsletters

Subscribe to StudyMEDIC Newsletters & stay informed